Nursery Debut

IMG_2633After many months of hard work, endless hours of surfing the web, and multiple Pinterest projects the nursery is finally done! I am so excited to know that in just a few short weeks this room will officially be occupied with our son or daughter, but until then I hope you all will be able to enjoy the fruits of our labor!


 

On one side of the room is the full size bed. If we ever do take in older children (such as a sibling group) this would be their bed.

  • Throw pillows: Homegoods
  • Wall print: Marshalls
  • Chevron pillow cases: Circo Chevron Sheet Set (Target)
  • Chevron curtains: Circo Chevron Blackout Curtains  (Target)

IMG_2600IMG_2606

Across the room from the bed is the crib and changing table. I fell in love with this blue crib almost immediately when browsing Amazon. Not only did it have amazing reviews but it was super cheap! The crib converts to a toddler bed and a full size headboard and foot-board which makes it super convenient for a transitional nursery. The changing table is the one thing I spent more time on than anything. I wanted a gray table (super hard to find) and I wanted there to be drawers since we don’t have a dresser anywhere else in the room. I searched for literally weeks trying to find one I liked and finally found this one on sale at Wayfair (the most amazing site for discounted quality furniture). Josh put it together in a few hours and I LOVE how it turned out!

  • Crib: Union 4-in-1 Convertible Crib in Blue Lagoon (Amazon)
  • Changing table: AFG Amber Changing Table (Wayfair)
  • Changing pad cover: Circo Wipeable Changing Pad Cover (Target)
  • Elephant crib sheet: Circo Elephant Fitted Crib Sheet (Target)
  • White storage bins: Dollar Tree
  • Elephant diaper organizer: Homegoods

IMG_2619

The crib skirt shown was made by a close family friend and is by far my most favorite part of the whole room. The woman who made this is not only like family to me but she used to be a foster mom many years ago. That alone makes it more special than anything else in the entire room.

IMG_2605

I knew I had to have a rocking chair in the nursery as it super essential to have for late night feedings, fussy babies, and things of such sorts. This one was such a great price and came in tons of different colors. It even has pockets on both arm rests for holding any and everything.

  • Rocking Chair: Storkcraft Chevron Glider with Ottoman (Amazon)
  • Toy basket: Homegoods
  • Lamp: Ikea
  • End table: Target

IMG_2628IMG_2613

I’m slightly obsessed with the gallery wall above the crib (minus the ugly sprinkler head hovering {thanks apartment living}) and insanely proud of myself that with all 4 prints and the string art I spent under $20. The string art was about $15 for all the supplies (paint, wood, nails, string). It was super easy to make as well. All I did was paint the wood with acrylic paint, find a silhouette of an elephant online, trace the elephant on the wood, nail the outline of the elephant, and start stringing the string in all which ways. I promise you it really was that simple! If you really would like to see a tutorial though here’s the one I loosely followed: String Art Tutorial.

The prints/frames were so simple I’m pretty sure my dog could have done them. I bought $1 black frames from the Dollar Tree and used the left over gray paint from the string art project. I took the frames apart so I only had the plastic part and painted it gray. I let them dry overnight and voila! Here’s a few pictures in case you are seriously un-crafty.

I found tons of free wall prints via Pinterest and chose my favorites and printed them on a normal color printer. I popped them in the frames and there you have it, a perfect gallery wall! The thing I love about the prints is that they have different ones for boys and girls and the frames are so lightweight that it makes changing them out easy. To score free prints of your own check out the links below.

Knowing this space is finally complete has helped in putting my weary heart at ease. I finally feel as if I am able to let the reigns loose in fighting the change that is about to happen and  truly embrace the beautiful moments that are soon to come.

6 thoughts on “Nursery Debut

Leave a Reply

